Castletown Golf Club


Multi-times golfer of the year Dennis Moore (10) re-emerged to win the Club sponsored Stableford with 40 points at Castletown on Saturday. Moore N/R’d the 2nd and double bogeyed the Road Hole but completed the remainder in a solid three over par. Four pointer birdies on the 4th and 6th helped him turn with 19 and a procession of pars and nett pars added 21 on the back nine.

There was a three way tie for second place. Ben Akrigg (10), Stuart Campbell (13) and Richard Creamore (12) all stepped in with 39 points. Akrigg’s two over par back nine was worth 22 points compared to Campbell’s 20 and Creamore’s 19. In addition Campbell collected a nett hole-in-one on the 16th for a share of the 2’s pot.

Anthony Hopkins (20) suffered two N/Rs and two double bogeys and yet still compiled 38 points to take the fifth place prize. This was equalled by the final blue/white tees award winner Guy Pickard (6) who shot a gross 78 including back-to-back birdies on the 3rd and 4th.

Only five of the 111 competitors elected to play off the yellow tees, and Peter McKenna (22) was the first home with 33 points down in 38th place.

On the previous Wednesday there was a mixed tee Bogey competition which was won by Jane Holt (20) on +3. Our lady vice-captain Julie Amphlett (22) came second on +2 and George Quayle (19) was two points back in third.  ‘Midweeker’ Flower Power sponsored open events take place each Wednesday and tee times can be booked by telephoning 822211.

This coming Saturday long-time Club sponsor Simcocks Advocates kindly sponsor a Stableford. As it is a bank holiday weekend there will be Men’s and Ladies Stableford competitions on Sunday followed by a family pairs Texas Scramble (Open) taking place on Monday.

Over the first two Saturdays in September the Club Championship will be played off the blue tees with age related competitions available off the other tees. There will be a total of 19 prizes over the two weeks generously sponsored by The International Stock Exchange (TISE).

The 72 players qualifying for the second round taking place on Saturday 8th September will have a drawn 9:30 shotgun start with the prize presentation and complimentary buffet immediately afterwards. Those not qualifying can book tee times in the usual manner for a Stableford with tee times available from 14:00.


Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2
CONGU® is Copyright Council of National Golf Unions.